TOP 5 HAIR PRODUCTS

As a soon to be graduate of the Vancouver Hair Academy I thought I would throw out my top 5 favourite hair products. Having worked as a stylist (hair) on set for 3 years I am always working with different textures and types of hair so I have to have to make sure that what I have, I know works for the majority.

Dry Shampoo.
I can’t tell you how many times this has saved my life, personal and professional. If you have fine hair or bangs that gets oily far too quickly inbetween washes. Use dry shampoo to soak up all the oil spraying the hair once, letting it sit for 20 seconds and then brushing the hair through, voila! dirty locks disguised as clean and beautiful! My product recomendation with a wicked price point is Tresemme Fresh Start Dry shampoo!

Spray..
Seperating this into two you must always have a really strong hold and a flexible hold hair spray. With a spray it can be tricky you don’t that wet look on the hair and for the hair to become crunchy so holding the can a fair distance from the head is always in your favour.
For flexible hold I recomend Bumble and Bumble Does It All hairspray which gives the hair subtle control.

For Maximum hold I recomend yet again Tresemme TRES Two Extra Hold hairspray. Gives you maximum contol while still brushable. My favourite for the roller sets pre-updo’s.

Moroccan Oil
Everyone is going crazy for it and as a chemically addicted individual I can definatly say it is amazing! Applying a good amount to wet hair it cuts blow drying time down by half and seals in moisture along the hair shaft leaving the hair soft with frizz control without the feel of product build up! Try it, you might fall in love!

Thickening
I see alot of people with fine thin hair in the salon who have tried all kinds of volumising shampoo’s with no such luck but always come in and request the Bumble and Bumble thickening products that they have in their line. They have two styling products a serum designed as a leave in overnight treatment (results seen after two weeks) and a thickening spray that you leave in the hair when wet which works straight away. Both products work by swelling the cuticle along the hair shaft giving the illusion of fuller thicker hair.

WAX
Matte works best both in camera and on the street. Working with my male clientele this product is loved by all. The BEDHEAD B wax seperation for men by Tigi is my favourite, smells great, mouldable in the hands it works great with a medium hold and matte finish.

About makeupbymaryann

Makeup and Hair Artist based between Vancouver, London and LA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TOP 5 HAIR PRODUCTS

  1. Tiffany says:

    WOW! You are right about the Moroccan Oil! It works wonders! Thank you for the helpful tips! When I worked at Sally’s Beauty I use to rack up on the dry shampoo too! This is awesome info and i invite you to check out my brand new website! It is http://www.hairhypeonline.com Have a Happy Hair Day!

Leave a Reply

